Equatorial Guinea

Global Perspective, Local Expertise.™



Equatorial Guinea is a small country located in Central Africa, with an area of 28,000 sq. km. (11,000 sq. mi.). Equatorial Guinea has two parts: insular, and mainland. The insular region consists of the islands of Bioko in the Gulf of Guinea; and Annobón, a small volcanic island south of the equator. Bioko Island is the northernmost part of Equatorial Guinea and is the site of the country’s capital, Malabo. The mainland region is called Río Muni. But Río Muni also includes several small offshore islands (such as Corisco, Elobey Grande, and Elobey Chico). The principal religion in Equatorial Guinea is Christianity which is the faith of 93% of the population. These are predominately Roman Catholic (87%).

Equatorial Guinea is divided into 7 provinces, which are further divided into districts. Bioko Norte Province is the most populated province of Equatorial Guinea. It occupies the northern part of the island of Bioko, the remainder of which comprises Bioko Sur Province. The capital of Bioko Norte is Malabo.

Annobón Province (a.k.a. Pagalu or Pigalu)

San Antonio de Palé

Bioko Norte Province


Bioko Sur Province


Centro Sur Province


Kié-Ntem Province


Litoral Province


Wele-Nzas Province


Leave a Reply