Home, James!® Global Real Estate Network in Wallis and Futuna Islands (FR)

Global Perspective, Local Expertise.™

WALLIS Island space


The Wallis and Futuna Islands (French: Wallis et Futuna or Territoire des îles Wallis et Futuna, Fakauvea and Fakafutuna: Uvea mo Futuna) is a French island collectivity in the South Pacific. Wallis and Futuna is not part of French Polynesia. The land area of Wallis and Futuna is 142.42 sq. km. (54.99 sq. mi.) with a population of about 12,000. Matāʻutu is the capital and biggest city of Wallis and Futuna.

Wallis and Futuna is made up of three main volcanic tropical islands along with a number of tiny islets. Wallis and Futuna Islands are split into two island groups, which are about 260 km. (160 mi.) apart. Wallis Islands (Uvea) are in the northeast, and Hoorn Islands (also called the Futuna Islands) are in the southwest. Hoorn Islands (Futuna Islands) includes Futuna Island proper, and the mostly uninhabited Alofi Island.

The Wallis and Futuna territory is divided into 3 traditional kingdoms (royaumes coutumiers): Uvea, Sigave, and Alo. Uvea is further subdivided into 3 districts.

Select a Kingdom District > Capital

Wallis Island

Uvea (Wallis)
> Matāʻutu
Hihifo (“west”)
> Vaitupu
Hahake (“east”)
> Matāʻutu
Mu’a (“first”)
> Mala’efo’ou

Hoorn Islands (Futuna and Alofi)

Sigave (Singave)
> Leava
> Mala’e

Leave a Reply