Bahamas (UK)

Global Perspective, Local Expertise.™



The original British Commonwealth (1931) evolved into the “free and equal” Commonwealth of Nations (1949). Today’s Commonwealth of Nations is a voluntary association of 53 independent and sovereign states of which 3 are in Europe, 12 in North America, 1 in South America, 18 in Africa, 8 in Asia, and 11 in Oceania. Seventeen of those share the same monarch, Queen Elizabeth II. The Bahamas is one of those.

The districts of the Bahamas provide a system of local government everywhere except New Providence (which holds 70% of the national population). Tourism accounts for over 60 percent of the Bahamian GDP, and provides jobs for more than half the country’s workforce. The next most important economic sector is financial services, accounting for some 15 percent of GDP.

Taxes: The government derives its revenue from import tariffs, license fees, property and stamp taxes, but there is no income tax, corporate tax, capital gains tax, value-added tax (VAT), or wealth tax. Payroll taxes fund social insurance benefits and amount to 3.9% paid by the employee and 5.9% paid by the employer.

Select a District

Berry Islands
Black Point, Exuma
Cat Island
Central Abaco
Central Andros
Central Eleuthera
City of Freeport, Grand Bahama
Crooked Island
East Grand Bahama
Grand Cay, Abaco
Harbour Island, Eleuthera
Hope Town, Abaco
Long Island
Mangrove Cay, Andros
Moore’s Island, Abaco
North Abaco
North Andros
North Eleuthera
Ragged Island
Rum Cay
San Salvador
South Abaco
South Andros
South Eleuthera
Spanish Wells, Eleuthera
West Grand Bahama
Green Turtle Cay

Leave a Reply