Papua New Guinea (UK)

Global Perspective, Local Expertise.™



After being ruled by three external powers since 1884, Papua New Guinea established its sovereignty in 1975 following 70 years of Australian administration. Papua New Guinea is now a separate Commonwealth realm with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state.

The original British Commonwealth (1931) evolved into the “free and equal” Commonwealth of Nations (1949). Today’s Commonwealth of Nations is a voluntary association of 53 independent and sovereign states of which 3 are in Europe, 12 in North America, 1 in South America, 18 in Africa, 8 in Asia, and 11 in Oceania. Seventeen of those share the same monarch, Queen Elizabeth II. Papua New Guinea is one of those.

Provinces are the primary administrative divisions of Papua New Guinea. Papua New Guinea has 22 province-level divisions: 20 provinces + the Autonomous Region of Bougainville + the National Capital District. Each province of Papua New Guinea is divided into one or more districts, which in turn are divided into one or more Local Level Government areas.

The province-level divisions are:

Chimbu (Simbu)
Eastern Highlands
East New Britain
East Sepik
Milne Bay
National Capital District
New Ireland
Northern (Oro Province)
Bougainville (autonomous region)
Southern Highlands
Western Province (Fly)
Western Highlands
West New Britain
West Sepik (Sandaun)

Leave a Reply