Cape Verde Islands

Global Perspective, Local Expertise.™



Cape Verde is an island country spanning an archipelago of 10 volcanic islands. The Cape Verdean economy is mostly service-oriented with a growing focus on tourism and foreign investment, which benefits from the islands’ warm year-round climate, diverse landscape and cultural wealth.

The islands are spatially divided into two groups:

The Barlavento Islands (windward islands): Santo Antão, São Vicente, Santa Luzia, São Nicolau, Sal, Boa Vista; and The Sotavento Islands (leeward): Maio, Santiago, Fogo, Brava. The largest island, both in size and population, is Santiago, which hosts the nation’s capital, Praia, the principal agglomeration in the archipelago. Three (Sal, Boa Vista and Maio) are fairly flat, sandy and dry; the others are generally rockier with more vegetation.

Barlavento (Windward) Islands

Boa Vista Island

Sal Island

Santa Luzia Island

Santo Antão Island

São Nicolau Island

São Vicente Island


Sotavento (Leeward) Islands

Brava Island

Fogo Island

Maio Island

Santiago Island


Leave a Reply