Hong Kong (CN)

Global Perspective, Local Expertise.™



Hong Kong has a unitary system of government; no local government has existed since the two municipal councils were abolished in 2000. There is no formal definition for its cities and towns. The Home Affairs Department communicates government policies and plans to the public through the district offices. About 93.6% of the people of Hong Kong are of Chinese descent, the majority of whom are Taishanese, Chiu Chow, other Cantonese people, and Hakka. Hong Kong’s Han majority originate mainly from the Guangzhou and Taishan regions in Guangdong province.

The geography of Hong Kong primarily consists of three main territories:

Hong Kong Island (香港特别行政区 or 香港特区)
Kowloon Peninsula
New Territories

Administratively, Hong Kong is subdivided into 18 geographic districts.


Select a District

Central & Western
Kowloon City
Kwai Tsing
Kwun Tong
Sai Kung
Sha Tin
Sham Shui Po
Tai Po
Tsuen Wan
Tuen Mun
Wan Chai
Wong Tai Sin
Yau Tsim Mong
Yuen Long

Leave a Reply